About KPR

Under Article 320 of the Constitution of India, the Commission is, inter-alia, required to be consulted on all matters relating to recruitment to civil services and posts. The functions of the Commission under Article 320 of the Constitution are:

  • Conduct examinations for appointment to the services of the Union.
  • Direct recruitment by selection through interviews.
  • Appointment of officers on promotion / deputation / absorption.
  • Framing and amendment of Recruitment Rules for various services and posts under the Government.
  • Disciplinary cases relating to different Civil Services.
  • Advising the Government on any matter referred to the Commission by the President of India.

List of Services
  1. Indian Administrative Service (IAS)
  2. Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
  3. Indian Police Service (IPS)
  4. Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’
  5. Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’
  6. Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise) Group ‘A’
  7. Indian Defense Accounts Service, Group ‘A’
  8. Indian Revenue Service, Group ‘A’ (IRS)
  9. Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Non-technical)
  10. Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’
  11. Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’
  12. Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’
  13. Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group ‘A
  14. Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’
  15. Post of Assistant Security Officer, Group ‘A’ in Railway Protection Force
  16. Indian Defense Estates Service, Group ‘A’
  17. Indian Information Service (Junior Grade), Group ‘A’
  18. Indian Trade Service, Group “A” (Grade-III)
  19. Indian Corporate Law Service, Group “A”
  20. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade)
  21. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’
  22. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service, Group ‘B’
  23. Pondicherry Civil Service, Group ‘B’
  24. Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B

Eligibility Criteria
  1. Nationality:
    1. General
    2. Other Backwards Castes (OBC)
    3. Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST)
    4. Physically disabled candidates (Blind, Deaf-Mute, Orthopaedic)
    5. Jammu & Kashmir Domicile
    6. Disabled servicemen disabled from duty
  2. Age Limit:
    1. Minimum age 21 years for all.
    2. General - 32 Years.
    3. Other Backwards Castes (OBC) - 32 Years with relaxation of 03 years = 35 years.
    4. Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST) - 32 Years with relaxation of 05 Years = 37 years.
    5. Physically disabled candidates (Blind, Deaf-Mute, Orthopaedic) - 32 years with relaxation of 10 years = 42 years.
    6. Jammu & Kashmir Domicile - General = 37 years, OBC = 40 Years, SC/ST = 42 Years, PH = 50 years.
    7. Disabled servicemen disabled from duty - General= 37 years OBC = 38 Years SC/ST = 40 Years.
  3. Minimum Educational Qualifications:

                                 Any Degree (Recognized by UGC / AICTE).

  4. Number of attempts:
    1. General - 06 Attempts.
    2. Other Backwards Castes (OBC) - 09 Attempts.
    3. Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST) - Till the Upper Age limit.
    4. Physically disabled candidates (Blind, Deaf-Mute, Orthopaedic) - For the General and OBC Candidates= 09 attempts. For SC/ST Candidates = Unlimited till age limit.
    5. Jammu & Kashmir Domicile - Up to the Upper Age limit.
    6. Disabled servicemen disabled from duty - Up to the Upper Age limit.

Exam Pattern

Civil Services Examination is a 3-stage examination held every year.

Stage 1 – Preliminary Test

Stage 2 – Main Exam

Stage 3 – Personality Test / Interview

  1. Preliminary Examination:

    Following are the features of the Preliminary examination:

    1. There would be two compulsory papers in the preliminary examination namely the General Ability test (GAT) and the Civil Service Aptitude Test (CSAT) to test the analytical skills of the candidates.
    2. The papers would be objective in nature with multiple choice questions. The candidates will have to tick one from the 4 options provided there.
    3. There is also a provision of negative marking in this examination. it will be equal to 1/3rd of mark allotted to a correct answer. However, there is no negative marking for the question left unanswered.
    4. The questions will be set in both Hindi and English language.
  2. Serial Number Name of Paper Marks Allotted
    Paper 1 General Studies 200 Marks
    Paper 2 English Language and Aptitude 200 Marks
    Total 400 Marks
  3. Main Examination:

    Following are the main points for the Main Examination and Interview:

    1. There would two types of Papers in the examination: Qualifying Papers and Papers to be counted for Merit formation.
    2. The candidates will have to appear in both the parts.
    3. Failing in the qualifying papers would lead to the cancelling of the candidature of the aspirant.
    4. There would be 7 papers in the Main Examination as per the IAS Exam Pattern 2016 of 250 marks each. There would be two optional papers which the candidates would have to select. Check the complete list of the optional papers for the IAS Exam.
  4. Serial Number of Paper Title of the Paper Marks Allotted in the Paper
    Paper 1 Essay writing 250 Marks
    Paper 2 General Studies–I (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society) 250 Marks
    Paper 3 General Studies –II (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations) 250 Marks
    Paper 4 General Studies –III (Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management) 250 Marks
    Paper 5 General Studies –IV (Ethics, Integrity, and Aptitude) 250 Marks
    Paper 6 Optional Subject – Paper 1 250 Marks
    Paper 7 Optional Subject – Paper 2 250 Marks
    Sub Total in the written Test 1750 Marks
    Personal Interview 275 Marks
    Grand Total (for merit calculation) 2025 Marks
  5. Personality Test:

    A personality Test of 275 Marks would be taken of the candidates qualified in the Preliminary Examination. This would include the psychometric Test, Assessment Test as well as the Personal Interview. The Marks obtained in the Personality Test would be added in the calculation for the declaration of the final Merit list.